Long Benton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Long Benton, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Long Benton, Northumberland
St Bartholomew Church Longbenton .jpg
St Bartholomew Church Longbenton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Tynemouth PLU
Registration District Tynemouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1667; Separate registers exist for Walker beginning 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BENTON, LONG (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Tynemouth, E. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 3½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Newcastle-upon-Tyne. There are several places of worship for dissenters.[1]

Additional information:

The church of St. Bartholomew Long Benton probably occupies the site of a former church recorded in 1130 and built earlier. Restoration work on the church in 1791 discovered evidence of an earlier building.Further building work was undertaken in 1838, and in 1855 the chancel was rebuilt in the Perpendicular style and the whole structure new roofed, a stained east window being given at the same time by Dr. Thomas Addison, of Spring Gardens, London, as a memorial to his parents: in 1873-75, the church was restored and enlarged.

The parish is an ancient parish.

Resources

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/167 1762-1872 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records which is engineering additional image loading; at present the images available are only to 1830. 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Longbenton, St Bartholomew: Records of baptisms 1670-1949, marriages 1653-1963 and burials 1669-1926 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1670-1915, marriages 1667-1910, banns 1754-1966 and burials 1669-1926 are also available at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1670-1812 and marriages 1653-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1653-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1670-1721, 1723-1812, marriages 1653-1721, 1724-1812 and burials 1669-1721, 1723-1812 for Longbenton are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. Tyne and Wear Archives Service have an index of marriages for 1653-1837. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Longbenton and the Convent of the Good Shepherd (microfiche TN85) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438886.

Poor Law Unions

Tynemouth Poor Law Union,Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 31 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 15:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,480 times.