Long Ditton, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Long Ditton, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingston
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Kingston PLU
Registration District Kingston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1685
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ewell
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ditton, Long (St. Mary), a parish, in the union, and Second division of the hundred, of Kingston, E. division of Surrey, 2¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Kingston.[1]


Long Ditton, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Long Ditton, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1564
1564
1566
Indexes 1564-1869
(gaps)
FamilySearch[2] 1564-1828
(gaps)
FamilySearch[3] 1566-1840 FindMyPast[4]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474663.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[5]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 1 October 2013.
  2. Batches C006982, P006981, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batch M006981, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  5. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2014, at 22:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,917 times.