Long Marston, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Long Marston
Long Marston, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred York (Ansty)
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Barwick Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Tadcaster; York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery City of York and Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Guide to Long Marston, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

MARSTON, LONG (All Saints), a parish, in the W. division of Ainsty wapentake, W. riding of York, 7½ miles (W.) from York. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Long Marston exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
LONG MARSTON PARISH (1624) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1660-1865 1660-1865 1660-1812 1660-1812 1660-1812 1660-1812
FS 1624, 1634-1874

1628-1888

1846-1847, 1865, 1872-1889

NBI

1780-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464295.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' FindMyPast, accessed 2 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 October 2014, at 02:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,345 times.