Longcott, BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes

Guide to Longcott, Berkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longcott, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shrivenham
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon PLU
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LONGCOT, a chapelry, in the parish and hundred of Shrivenham, union of Farringdon, county of Berks, 3½ miles (S. by W.) from Farringdon. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Longcott, Berkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (FindMyPast) - (£).[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Longcott, Berkshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK Undefined

Undefined
BIVRI 1612-1637
1612-1637

IGI 1645-1812 1754-1810
OFHS 1612-1989
1612-1989
1612-1989

Fernham registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Fernham Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1860-1988
1860-1988
1860-1988

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241204.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 170-172. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', FindMyPast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 31 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  5. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 June 2014, at 15:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,094 times.