Longdon upon Tern, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Longdon upon Tern, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Longdon upon Tern, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Wellington PLU
Registration District Wellington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1692
Bishop's Transcripts: 1809
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontesbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LONGDON-upon-Terne (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Wellington, Newport division of the hundred of South Bradford, N. division of Shropshire, 3½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Wellington. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Longdon upon Tern parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
LONGDON UPON TERN PARISH (1692) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1701-1810

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1692-1812
1692-1812
1692-1812
IGI 1692-1875
JOIN
1701-1810

MLOC 1692-1812
1692-1812
1692-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1809-1879 Marr 1809-1841 Bur 1810-1879.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474581.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 170-172. Date accessed: 26 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
  7. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2014, at 17:37.
  • This page has been accessed 608 times.