Longframlington, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Longframlington, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longframlington, Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Rothbury PLU
Registration District Rothbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Felton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alnwick
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FRAMLINGTON, LONG, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Rothbury, E. division of Coquetdale ward, N. division of Northumberland; There is a meeting-house for Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

Longframlington St Mary the Virgin is a chapelry in the ancient parish of Felton and includes Brinkburn High ward and Brinkburn Low ward. Other places in the parish include: Brinkburn Low Ward and Brinkburn High Ward.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/168 Date: March 1765-1841
Contents: Including transcripts from Brinkburn, March 1765-1835 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however images for the parish have not yet been loading pending major engineering of the collection.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Longframlington, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1653-1949, marriages 1654-1990 and burials 1684-1929 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1653-1717 and marriages 1685-1717 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1685-1717. Transcripts of baptisms 1653-1717, marriages 1685-1717 and burials 1684-1717 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Longframlington (microfiche TN78) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438891.

Poor Law Unions

Rothbury Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:20.
  • This page has been accessed 632 times.