Longhoughton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Longhoughton, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longhoughton, Northumberland
Longhoughton Church 1836.JPG
Longhoughton Church 1836
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bambrough
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Alnwick PLU
Registration District Alnwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1696
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alnwick
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOUGHTON, LONG (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Alnwick, S. division of Bambrough ward, N. division of Northumberland; containing, with the townships of Little Houghton and Boulmer with SeatonHouse, The church, a plain structure, has a fine old tower with a beautiful Norman arch.[1]

Additional information:

The Ancient parish church of Longhaughton St. Peter and St. Paul dates from the Saxon era, although it was rebuilt in 1080 and now the only remaining Saxon stonework is seen in parts of the chancel and tower arches. During the 1080 rebuilding, a 44-foot (13 m) tower was added. This was for purposes of military defense, rather than religious use, and was used as such until the seventeenth century. Parish records go back as far as 1646.

Smugglers used to use the church as a distribution centre in the 1800s.

Nicholaus Pevsner mentioned the church favorably in his review of Northumbrian architecture.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Longhoughton, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
LONGHOUGHTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/171 Date: 1765-1870 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Longhoughton, St Peter and St Paul: Records of baptisms 1646-1921, marriages 1696-1991 and burials 1696-1877 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms and marriages 1646-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1646-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1646-1812 are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Longhoughton (microfiche TN71) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.

Poor Law Unions

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:18.
  • This page has been accessed 708 times.