Longridge, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Longridge, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longridge, Lancashire
St Lawrence with St Paul Longridge contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Preston PLU
Registration District Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1760
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

LONGRIDGE was created a chapel of ease in 1727 from, and lying within the boundaries of Ribchester, union of Preston, Lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 7 miles northeast of Preston. The chapelry comprises Alston and Dilworth townships. The church, dedicated to St. Lawrence, was erected in 1716. See also List of Chapelries in the Parish of Ribchester. There was a Roman Catholic chapel as well as an hospital for a master and brethren, dedicated to the Virgin Mary and Our Savior.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Longridge chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ribchester to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


LONGRIDGE ST LAWRENCE Chapelry  (1760) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1762-1900 1838-1900 1795-1883
LOPC 1760-1900 1838-1900 1795-1900
LBMD 1937-1974 1838-1939 1937-1974
RIBCHESTER ST WILFRID(ancient parish containing LONGRIDGE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1598-1900 1599-1885 None
LOPC 1773-1921 1735-1916 1773-1931
LBMD None 1837-2006 None
FMP None 1599-1837 None
AC 1598-1694 1598-1694 1598-1694
FREG 1598-1695 1599-1694 1598-1694


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Longridge and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ribchester to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the RIBCHESTER ST WILFRID PARISH page.


llection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306894.


Poor Law Unions

Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 1,636 times.