Longstock, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Longstock

Guide to Longstock, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longstock, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pre-1834 - King's Somborne; Post-1833 - Thorngate
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Stockbridge PLU
Registration District Stockbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1718
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Somborne
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LONGSTOCK (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stockbridge, hundred of King's Sombourn, Andover and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 1 mile (N.) from Stockbridge.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Longstock parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
LONGSTOCK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812
PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288791.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 172-175. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 15:44.
  • This page has been accessed 969 times.