Longton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Longton, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longton, Lancashire
Longton, St. Andrew Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Preston PLU
Registration District Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1758
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

LONGTON, was created a chapel of ease from, and lying within the boundaries of 1719 from chapelry in Penwortham, union of Preston, hundred of Leyland, N. division of Lancashire, 5 miles (S. W. by W.) from Preston. The Parish Church, St. Andrew's was completed in 1887 when the previous chapel of 1772 which stood nearer the main road was demolished. This stood on the site of an earlier chapel, the records of which are lost. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Longton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Penwortham to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


LONGTON ST ANDREW Chapelry (1753) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1753-1839 None 1824-1847
LOPC 1754-1900 1838-1900 1817-1900 
LBMD None 1838-2009 None
PENWORTHAM ST MARY(ancient parish containing LONGTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1608-1839; 1858-1901 1616-1884              1818-1839         
LOPC 1741-1900 1608-1900 1794-1900
FMP  None None None
LBMD None 1837-2008 None 
AC 1608-1755 1608-1755 1608-1755


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Longton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Penwortham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PENWORTHAM ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306913.

Genealogy

Barlow, Angela.  A Lancashire Family.  History and family history charts of Ralph Loxham and his first wife Margery, and second wife Jane 1622, and William Loxham and his wife Margaret Howthe 1638. of Longton and Preston.  Other surnames  Wilding, Sharples, Brewer, Jenkins, Gregson, Lawe, Sherdley, Eccleston, Johnson, Bannister, Rigby, Thompson, Proctor, Holland, Norris, Atherton, Sherdley, Walton, Premberlon, Critchley, Haylock, Whitehead Sidebottom, Farrer, Clayton, Willis, Fielden, Farrer. The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. magazine vol. 10.no.1, pages 25-35, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 172-175. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,962 times.