Longton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Longton, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Longton, Staffordshire
Longton St James Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stoke on Trent PLU
Registration District Stoke upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1764; Separate registers exist for Longton St James beginning 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1764; Separate records exist for Longton St James beginning 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LONGTON, with Lane-End, a market-town and district parish, in the parish and union of Stoke-uponTrent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 4 miles (E. S. E.) from Newcastle-under-Lyme, 14 (N.) from Stafford, and 150(N. W. by N.) from London. There are places ofworship for Baptists, Independents, Calvinistic Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Wesleyans,and other dissenters; also a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Longton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1802 from chapelry in Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Longton St James.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Longton St John (Lane End) was originally a chapelry of Stoke St Peter

Longton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
LONGTON ST JOHN PARISH (1764) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1764-1901
1837-1900



FMP 1764-1901 1764-1901 1866-1901
1866-1901


FREG 1866-1900 1813-1840

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1764-1976 Mar 1866-1978 Bur 1764-1975
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop’s Transcripts Bap 1764-1868 Mar no holdings Bur 1764-1868 Missing 1854-1855 Bap and bur

Longton St James the Less was formed from from part of Longton St John EP From 1979 St James and St John

Longton St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

LONGTON ST JAMES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1837-1900


FMP 1834-1900 1834-1900 1837-1900 1837-1900

FS 1834-1900





Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Cemetery Records

Longton Cemetery[4]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1878-1895

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Stoke Upon Trent Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 172-175. Date accessed: 02 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 4.0 4.1 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 August 2014, at 23:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,595 times.