Lonoke County, Arkansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lonoke County, Arkansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Lonoke County

Guide to Lonoke County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Lonoke County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Lonoke County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 16, 1872
County Seat Lonoke
Courthouse
Address Lonoke County Courthouse
3rd & N Center Street
PO Box 431
Lonoke, AR 72086-0431
Phone: 501.676.2368

Contents

County Courthouse

Lonoke County Courthouse
3rd & N Center Street
PO Box 431
Lonoke, AR 72086-0431
Phone: 501.676.2368


County Clerk has marriage and probate records.[1]

Beginning years for Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1873 1914* 1873 1873 1873
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1873--Lonoke County was created 16 April 1873 from Pulaski and Prairie  Counties. County seat: Lonoke [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Arkansas  • Faulkner  • Jefferson  • Prairie  • Pulaski  • White

Lonoke CountyWhite CountyPrairie CountyFaulkner CountyGrant CountySaline CountyPulaski CountyCleveland CountyLincoln CountyJefferson CountyArkansas CountyMonroe CountyWoodruff CountyJackson CountyCleburne CountyVan Buren CountyDallas CountyIndependence CountyConway CountyDesha CountyARLonoke.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Lonoke County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Lonoke County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Depending upon the beliefs of the church, records may give baptism, christening, or birth, plus marriage (maiden name?) and death dates. See also Arkansas Church Records and [[{{{1}}} County, Arkansas Genealogy#Cities and Towns|Cities and Towns]].

Court

Genealogy

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1861-1949 Lonoke County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration records 1873-1884; Administration, executor and guardian dockets 1861-1886; Executor bonds and letters 1873-1949; Guardian records 1873-1892; Probate records 1873-1891; Wills 1873-1939.

Land and Property

Land and property records
 1) pinpoint the land
 2) reveal family relationships
 3) identify neighbors
 4) have clues!


The clerk of the circuit or county court has copies of deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, and others. See Arkansas
Land and Property
for online collections and more information.

Local Histories

Template:AR History Intro

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The lands of Lonoke County have been inhabited for 10,000 years but were sparsely populated for most of this period.
  • 1821 - The first known white settlement was on Moss Prairie, founded by Sampson Gray from Williamson County, Tennessee.
  • 1849 August 9 - To encourage more people to settle in Brownsville, an ad was placed in the Arkansas Gazette. It read, “The site is a beautiful and elevated situation and persons wishing to make an investment in town prosperity will do well to attend this sale."
  • 1865 - As the soldiers returned home from the Civil War, they found that land, homes, and businesses had been destroyed. They began the task of rebuilding homes and businesses and getting the land ready to plant crops for the next year.
  • 1873 April 16 - Governor Elisha Baxter signed the act creating Lonoke County from the parent counties Prairie and Pulaski.
  • 2010 - Lonoke County has had a steady increase in population from its very beginning and now (2010) tops 68,300.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company B

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Records of wills and estates of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for Online Collections and more information.

  • Probate Records 1861-1949 Lonoke County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration records 1873-1884; Administration, executor and guardian dockets 1861-1886; Executor bonds and letters 1873-1949; Guardian records 1873-1892; Probate records 1873-1891; Wills 1873-1939.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

See the Arkansas Vital Records page. See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at FamilySearch. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Lonoke County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lonoke County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 March 2015, at 16:49.
  • This page has been accessed 8,886 times.