Loose, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Loose, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Loose, Kent
Loose All Saints Kent.jpg
Loose All Saints Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Maidstone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Maidstone PLU
Registration District Maidstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; For more records see Maidstone
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LOOSE (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Maidstone, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of the county of Kent, 2½ miles (S.) from Maidstone. [1]
Loose (pronounced looze) is a village and civil parish 2 miles south of the county town of Maidstone and the church of All Saints lies close to the river Loose.See Loose Kent Wikipedia

All Saints was originally a chapelry of Maidstone All Saints, Kent which was later enlarged to form an Ecclesiastical parish in the Diocese of Canterbury. The church is on the site of a former Saxon church and the oldest part of the building dates from the 14th century and churchwarden's accounts from 1364.

The church was restored and additions made in subsequent centuries; in 1819 and 1860 North and South Aisles were added . In 1878 serious fire damage lead to major restoration.

The Parish church of  All Saints, Church Street, Loose has been designated asa grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 359-365 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The Reverend Richard Boys was vicar here and is buried in the churchyard. He was chaplain to St Helena during the exile of Napoleon Bonaparte. The church also has memorials to the Fairfax family who held the Leeds Castle estates. One former vicar of the parish assumed the arms and name of Fairfax and the estates.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Loose, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Loose, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1717-1812
1717-1812
1717-1812

Original deposited registers are held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Family History Library film numbers
Loose

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

Census records

Census returns for Loose 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Maidstone Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 175-179. Date accessed: 19 Auguat 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,931 times.