Lostock Gralam, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Lostock Gralam, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lostock Gralam, Cheshire
Church of St John the Evangelist, Lostock Gralam Cheshire.jpg
Church of St John the Evangelist, Lostock Gralam Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1892
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LOSTOCK-GRALAM, is a village and a township in Great Budworth parish, and a chapelry partly also in Davenham parish, Cheshire. The village stands on an affluent of the river Weaver, adjacent to the Altrincham and Northwich railway, it is 2 miles ENE of Northwich; and the post office is under Knutsford. The township contains also the hamlet of Lostock-Green, and comprises. The chapelry includes also the townships of Wincham, Hulse, and Lach-Dennis.  A Wesleyan chapel is at Lostock-Green.[1]

Lostock Gralam St John the Evangelist is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1842 from  Great Budworth, Cheshire Ancient Parish and  Witton, Cheshire Ecclesiastical Parish. Other places in the parish include: Wincham, Rudheath, Hulse, Lach Dennis, and Lostock Green.

Lostock Gralam was a township in Witton Chapelry of Great Budworth Parish, Bucklow Hundred, which became a civil parish in 1866. In 1936 part of Lostock Gralam was added to Northwich and Included the hamlet of Lostock Green.

Lostock Gralam is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England, situated to the east of Northwich. The civil parish of Lostock Gralam also includes the small hamlet of Lostock Green.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241250.

Church records

Lostock Gralam St John the Evangelist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Lostock Gralam St John the Evangelist Parish (1842) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1844-1882
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1845-1848
  NONE
FS BT'S 1892-1892
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1892-1892
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of Lostock Gralam parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P61/1/1-5, P61/2/1-3, P61/3/1-3.

Parish registers for Lostock-Gralam, 1844-1942 Film
Baptisms, 1844-Aug. 1882.
2104769 Items 4 - 5
Baptisms, Aug. 1882-1930. Marriages, 1863-1942. Burials, 1845-1940. 2104770 Items 1 - 10

Bishop's transcripts, Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 130

Bishop's transcripts for Lostock-Gralam, 1892 Film

Baptisms, burials, 1892.

1647518 Item 3

Non Conformist Churches
  • Lostock Green, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan).
  • Lostock Gralam, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1894.
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Northwich (1837–1974)
Vale Royal (1974–98)
Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
Cheshire West (post 2009) registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Lostock Gralam on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 24 March 2013
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 16:08.
  • This page has been accessed 2,573 times.