Loudoun County, Virginia CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Loudoun County Gotoarrow.png  Census

1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 censuses of Loudoun County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Virginia Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than national indexes.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 18,962
1800 20,523 8.2%
1810 21,338 4.0%
1820 22,692 6.3%
1830 21,939 −3.3%
1840 20,431 −6.9%
1850 22,079 8.1%
1860 21,774 −1.4%
1870 20,929 −3.9%
1880 23,634 12.9%
1890 23,274 −1.5%
1900 21,948 −5.7%
1910 21,167 −3.6%
1920 20,577 −2.8%
1930 19,852 −3.5%
1940 20,291 2.2%
1950 21,147 4.2%
1960 24,549 16.1%
1970 37,150 51.3%
1980 57,427 54.6%
1990 86,129 50.0%
2000 169,599 96.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

Contents

1779

  • Dumont, William H. "A Short Census of Virginia - 1779," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 46, No. 4 (Dec. 1958):163-211. Available at FHL in original journal format and as a separate reprint. [Includes Loudoun County.]

1790 

Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1800 

Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1810

  • Duncan, Patricia B. 1810-1840 Loudoun County, Virginia, Federal Population Census Index. [Bowie, Md.]: Heritage Books, c2003. Available at FHL. Free Lookups Available!

1820

  • Duncan, Patricia B. 1810-1840 Loudoun County, Virginia, Federal Population Census Index. [Bowie, Md.]: Heritage Books, c2003. Available at FHL. Free Lookups Available!

1820 Manufacturers

  • "1820 Manufacturers Census," Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul. 1997):125-126. Available at FHL. [Includes Fairfax, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties.]

1830

  • Duncan, Patricia B. 1810-1840 Loudoun County, Virginia, Federal Population Census Index. [Bowie, Md.]: Heritage Books, c2003. Available at FHL. Free Lookups Available!

1840

  • Duncan, Patricia B. 1810-1840 Loudoun County, Virginia, Federal Population Census Index. [Bowie, Md.]: Heritage Books, 2003. Available at FHL. Free Lookups Available!

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • The Genealogical Society of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services; With Their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence ... Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1965. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Loudoun County pensioners appear on page 131.]

1850

1850 Mortality Schedule

  • U.S. Federal Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Loudoun County.]

1850 Slave Schedule

  • 1850 U.S. Federal Census - Slave Schedules. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Loudon [sic] County.]
  • Duncan, Patricia B. 1850 Fairfax County & Loudoun County, Virginia, Slave Schedule. Westminster, Md.: Willow Bend Books: Heritage Books, c2003. Available at FHL.

1860

Counties of birth were recorded for some residents by 1860 census takers.

1860 Mortality Schedule

  • U.S. Federal Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Loudoun County.]

1860 Slave Schedule

  • 1860 U.S. Federal Census - Slave Schedules. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Loudoun County.]
  • Duncan, Patricia B. 1860 Loudoun County, Virginia, Slave Schedule. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, c2003. Available at FHL.

1870

  • Duncan, Patricia B. 1870 Loudoun County, Virginia Federal Population Census Index. Westminster, Md.: Willow Bend Books, c2002. Available at FHL. Free Lookups Available!

1870 Mortality Schedule

  • U.S. Federal Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Loudoun County.]

1880

  • Thomas Balch Library (Leesburg, Va.). Loudoun County, Virginia Census Index 1880. 2000. Available at FHL.

Free Lookups Available!

1880 Mortality Schedule

  • U.S. Federal Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Loudoun County.]

1890 Union Veterans

1900

  • Thomas Balch Library (Leesburg, Va.). Loudoun County, Virginia, Census Index, 1900. 1996. Available at FHL.

Free Lookups Available!

1910

  • Thomas Balch Library (Leesburg, Va.). Loudoun County, Virginia, Census Index, 1910. 1996. Available at FHL.

Free Lookups Available!

1920

1930

  • Thomas Balch Library (Leesburg, Va.). Loudoun County, Virginia, Census Index 1930. 2003?. Available at FHL.

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 January 2011, at 02:07.
  • This page has been accessed 2,489 times.