Low Bentham, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Low Bentham

Guide to Low Bentham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St John Low Bentham contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Bentham (St John the Baptist), or Low Bentham, an Ancient Parish, in the West Riding Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Bentham with High and Low Bentham, Cold Cotes, Greystonegill, High Bentham, Twistleton, Low Bentham, Low Quarter, Mewith, Middle Quarter, and Ingleton in Moorgarth

Here is an important 19th century historical view (1848) of this parish which identifies its attached chapelries--each with its own registers of baptisms, marriages and burials:

BENTHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Settle, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York; containing 3535 inhabitants, of whom 2180 are in the township of Bentham, 10 miles (W. N. W.) from Settle. The township contains the villages of Upper and Lower Bentham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

 Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Bentham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
(LOW) BENTHAM PARISH (1606) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1666-1776
FS 1606-1892

1597-1891

1597-1891

JOIN None

1715-1826

None

PALL None
1790-1812
None
List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1666.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464272.

Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Bentham census enumerators books 1841-1901.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 210-214. Adapted. Date accessed: 03 January 2014.
  2. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,600 times.