Low Harrogate, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-RGotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Harrogate Low

Low Harrogate, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Knaresborough PLU
Registration District Knaresborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1830
Bishop's Transcripts: 1830
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boroughbridge
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Honour of Knaresborough
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARROGATE, a celebrated watering-place, comprising the villages of High and Low Harrogate, of which the former, with the hamlet of Bilton, constitutes a township in the parish of Knaresborough, and the latter is in the parish of Pannal, Lower division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York, 15 miles(N.) from Leeds, 21 (W. by N.) from York, and 200 (N. N. W.) from London. There is a place of worship for Independents in Low Harrogate, and one for Wesleyans in Central Harrogate. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Low Harrogate exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
LOW HARROGATE PARISH (1786) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1830-1835 1786
None

Harrogate Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Harrogate Christ Church Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1748-1812 1748-1812 1748-1812 1748-1812 1748-1812 1748-1812

Harrogate St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Harrogate St Mark Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1717-1812 1717-1812 1717-1812 1717-1812 1717-1812 1717-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464250.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 416-421.Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:16.
  • This page has been accessed 864 times.