Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe, Nottinghamshire
Lowdham St+Mary+The+Virgin Nottinghamshire.JPG
Lowdham St+Mary+The+Virgin Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


LOWDHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 7¾ miles (N. E.) from Nottingham; containing, with the townships of Caythorpe and Gunthorpe. A road from Nottingham to Newark passes through the village (which is a polling-place for South Notts); and the hamlet of Gunthorpe is bounded by the navigable river Trent, near which also Caythorpe is situated. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Lowdham St Mary is an Ancient parish which included Gunthorpe and Caythorpe.

Lowdham St Mary church history Lowdham St Mary  The parish church of St Mary has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Gunthorpe St John the Baptist was built as a chapel of ease for this parish Gunthorpe St John the Baptist

See also Lowdham Wikipedia    Wikipedia Caythorpe Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lowdham St Mary the Virgin (with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
LOWDHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1559-1996 Marriages 1562- 1951 Burials 1559-1980 Bishop's Transcripts 1599-1840
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,226 times.