Lower Bebington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Nether Bebington

Guide to Lower Bebington, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bebington St Andrew Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

BEBINGTON, two townships and a parish in Wirrall district, Cheshire. The townships are styled Higher and Lower; they lie on the river Mersey, and on the Birkenhead and Chester railway, just 2½ and 3½ miles S by E of Birkenhead; they have a station, and a post office of the same name, under Birkenhead. The parish includes also the townships of Tranmere (which is an ecclesiastical district), Storeton, and Poulton-cum-Spittle as well as Higher and Lower Bebington. The living is a rectory, with St. Mark's chapelry. There are four dissenting chapels.[1] [2]

Nether Bebington St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cheshire.

Other places in the parish include: Lower Bebbington, Lower Bebington, Poolton cum Spittle, Poulton cum Spital, Poulton cum Spittle, and Storeton.

St Andrew's Church, Bebington is in the town of Bebington, Wirral, Merseyside, England.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253.

Church records

Lower Bebington St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Lower Bebington St Andrew Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1559-1909
  NONE
1560-1934
  NONE
1558-1909
  NONE
FS BT'S 1597-1894   NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1597-1892
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Parish registers for St. Andrew's Church, Bebington, 1558-1959 Cheshire Record Office no.: P62/3248/1-4, P62/3248/2/1-3, P62/1/1-3, P62/2/1-3, P62/3/15, P62/5/1-4, P62/1-2, P62/8/1-9, P62/5090/5-8..

Parish Registers: St. Andrew's Church, Bebington Film
Early registers (baptisms, 1558-1739, marriages, burials, 1558-1702).
2105392 Items 12 - 13
Early registers (baptisms, 1737-1780; marriages, 1702-1765; burials, 1702-1782). Baptisms and burials, 1782-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1877. Marriages and banns, 1754-1812. Marriages, 1813-1871.
2105393
Marriages, 1871-1893. Marriage banns, 1785-1824. Burials, 1813-1871. Baptisms, 1907-1935, 1878-1907. Marriages, 1893-June 1913.
2105691
Marriages, May 1913-1930. Burials, 1888-1909. Early copy register (baptisms, marriages, burials), 1748-1780. Marriage affidavits, 1822-1823.
2105692 Items 1 - 5
Baptisms, 1878-1907. Marriages, 1893-1923. Burials, 1888-1899. Banns, 1785-1824.
1656301 Items 1 - 4
Marriages, 1930-1959.
2262788 Items 2 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for Bebington, 1597-1901 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 22.

Bishops Transcripts: Bebington Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1597, [no date], 1599, [no date], 1605, 1600, 1604-1605, 1608-1610, 1613-1615, 1617-1624, 1626, [2 pages, no dates], 1630, 1633, [no date], 1636-1638, 1640-1643, 1660, 1680, 1684, 1681, 1668, 1670, 1672-1676, 1678, 1680, 1669, 1666, 1685, 1690-1691, 1694-1733, 1736, 1735, 1734, 1737-1762, 1765, 1764, 1762-1763, 1766-1776, 1774-1775, 1777-1817, marriages, 1816-1830, baptisms, 1816, 1818-1823, 1825-1830, burials, 1816, 1818-1823, 1825-1830, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1837, burials, 1867-1869, baptisms, 1867-1869, baptisms, burials, 1870-1871, baptisms, 1872-1873, burials, 1872, baptisms, 1873-1874, burials, 1872, baptisms, 1874-1875, 1892-1893, burials, 1891-1892.
1655396 Item 2
Burials, 1892-1897, baptisms, 1894-1897, burials, 1896-1897, baptisms, burials, 1898-1899, burials, 1900-1901, baptisms, 1900-1901.
1655397 Item 1


Non-Conformist Churches

  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Non-Conformist records:

Church records for the Bebington Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, New Ferry, 1876-1949 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 158/9, EMS 158/10/1-4.

Church records for the Bebington Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, New Ferr Film
Baptisms, 1876-1921. Marriages, 1893-1949.
2299474 Items 17 - 21

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-19220

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) adapted 26 March 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,985 times.