Lower Beeding, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Lower Beeding, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lower Beeding, Sussex
Lower Beeding Holy Trinity West Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burbeach
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Horsham PLU
Registration District Horsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEEDING (Lower), a parochial chapelry in Horsham district, Sussex; in St. Leonard's forest, on the Mid Sussex railway, near Faygate station, 5 miles ENE of Horsham. There are a chapel of ease and a national school.[1]


Lower Beeding Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish created from a former chapelry in Upper Beeding, Sussex Ancient Parish.

Church history Lower Beeding Holy Trinity

The church of Holy Trinity has been designated as a grade II British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) has information about churches in Lower Beeding and Coolhurst Lower Beeding St John the Evangelist Coolhurst

See also Lower Beeding Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Lower Beeding, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Lower Beeding, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1840-1876 1841-1875
PRTS 1840-1901
1840-1901
1841-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Beeding, Lower

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

Poor Law Unions

Horsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/LowerBeeding/

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2014, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 890 times.