Lower Hardres, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Lower Hardres, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Lower Hardres, Kent
Lower Hardres St Mary Kent.jpg
Lower Hardres St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bridge and Petham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARDRES, LOWER (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Bridge and Petham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (S.) from Canterbury.[1]


Lower Hardres is a village and civil parish in the City of Canterbury district of Kent, see Lower Hardres Wikipedia

Lower Hardres (pronounced "hards") St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury, a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.

The Hardres family owned the two villages (nearby Upper Hardres, Kent ) from the 12th century.

The Church of St Mary, School Lane, Lower Hardres was built in 1831-1832 and has been designated as a grade II listed building and is replacement within the same churchyard for an earlier predecessor.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 299-303 Hardres+ at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lower Hardres, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Lower Hardres, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1565-1910 1565-1910 1570-1836; 1755-1823 (Banns) 1570-1836; 1755-1823 (Banns) 1574-1814 1574-1814

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Lower Hardres are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306862.


 

Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 407-409.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,371 times.