Lower Peover, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Lower Peover, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lower Peover, Cheshire
St Oswald's Church, Lower Peover.jpg
St Oswald's Church, Lower Peover
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PEOVER (Lower), is a chapelry in Great Budworth parish, Cheshire; on the river Peover, 2¾ miles S by W of Knutsford railway station. It comprises the townships of Nether Peover, Inferior Peover, Allostock, and Plumbley; and its post town is Nether Peover, under Knutsford.[1]

Lower Peover St Oswald was formed as an ancient chapelry later a parish from  Great Budworth, Cheshire Ancient parish. Peover is pronounced Pee-ver.

An ancient chapelry in Great Budworth parish, including the townships of Allostock, Peover Inferior, Nether Peover and Plumley

A church has been on this site since at least 1269, when it was a chapel of ease to Great Budworth. A south chapel was added around 1610 and the north chapel in 1624.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241250.

Church records

Lower Peover St Oswald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Lower Peover St Oswald Parish (1570) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1580-1896
  NONE
1576-1934
  NONE
1570-1895
  NONE
FS BT'S 1668-1899   NONE
1600-1808
  NONE
1668-1899
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

St Oswald's Registers of Baptisms 1570–1968, Marriages 1570–1997 and Burials 1570–1895 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

Lower Peover was a chapelry in Great Budworth parish. Cheshire Record Office call numbers: P4/1/1-4, P4/3723/1/1-2, P4/2/1-3, P4/3/1-5, P4/4/1-2, P4/5/1-2.

Parish registers Content Film
Baptisms, banns, marriages, burials, 1570-1654, 1661-1778. Baptisms, burials, 1778-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1896 BRITISH 2045886
Marriages, 1778-1934. Burials, 1813-1895. Banns, 1823-1910 VAULT BRITISH 2045871 Items 1 - 9
Marriages, 1934-1952 BRITISH 2262875 Items 9 - 10

 Bishop's transcripts for Lower Peover, 1600-1899 Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB 131

Bishop's transcripts Content  FHL Film
Baptism, marriages, burials, 1600, 1605, 1607-1608, 1612, 1614-1615, 1617, 1621-1623, 1625, 1627-1637, 1639-1640, 1658-1663, 1666-1676, 1680, 1682-1685, 1691-1694, 1696-1703, 1707-1708, 1711-1772. BRITISH 1656843 Item 3
Marriages, 1570-1654, 1661-1778. Banns, 1744-1778. Baptisms, burials, 1570-1654, 1661-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1896 BRITISH 1656844 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Unitarian.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1974)
  •  Macclesfield (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Lower Peover (see Peover Inferior) on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 200–204 
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 44–45, ISBN 1871731232
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 258, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 16:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,774 times.