Lower Whitley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Lower Whitley

Guide to Lower Whitley, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Luke's Church, Lower Whitley Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

WHITLEY, LOWER, is a township and chapelry, in the parish of Great Budworth, union of Runcorn, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 4¾ miles (N. W. by N.) from Northwich. The hamlet of Grimsditch is in the township. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Lower Whitley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1824 from  Great Budworth, Cheshire Ancient Parish.
Other places in the parish include: Whitley Inferior and Whitley Superior.

Whitley is a civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. It is surrounded by the parishes of Antrobus, Comberbach, Little Leigh and Dutton. It also borders Daresbury in Halton borough as well as Hatton and Stretton in Warrington borough.

There is a Society of Friends burial ground (18th century).

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church records

Lower Whitley St Luke chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Lower Whitley St Luke Chapelry (1777) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1842-1906




FS PR's 1779-1806
  NONE
1847-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1847-1850
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Chapelry Lower Whitley parish registers, 1777-1986 Cheshire Record Office no.: P177/3302/1, P177/1/1-4, P177/2, P177/4366/1.

Chapelry Lower Whitley parish registers Film
Baptisms, 1869-1949
1656489 Item 6
Marriages, 1847-1983
2045911 Item 4
Baptisms, 1777-1806, 1824-1869 (4 registers). Copy register baptisms, 1777-1805. Baptisms, 1869-1949 (another filming). Marriages, 1847-1983 (another filming).
2105692 Items 8 - 14
Burials, 1855-1986. Banns, 1856-1969.
2147231 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Lower Whitley, 1847-1850 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 133

Bishop's transcripts for Lower Whitle Film
Baptisms, 1847-1850
1647518 Item 5

Non Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Poor Law Unions

Runcorn Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,233 times.