Lowick, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Lowick, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lowick, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Glendale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Glendale PLU
Registration District Glendale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1718
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LOWICK, a parish, in the union of Glendale, E. division of Glendale ward, N. division of Northumberland, 8 miles (N. by E.) from Wooler; The village stands nearly in the centre of the parish,The church was rebuilt in 1794. There is a place of worship for Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

Lowick St John the Baptist is an Ancient parish and includes Barmoor, Bowsden, Bowsdon, Holborn, Holburn, and Laverick Law.
The first incumbent as Rector was Ralph circa 1228.

Lowick village stands in the centre of its parish, which carries the same name. The Anglican church of St. John the Baptist, built in the early English style, is the parish church. The present building dates from 1794, and was added to in 1887, the chancel and vestry work being carried out by F. R. Wilson, who also worked for the Percy family, Earls and Dukes of Northumberland. A church has stood on the site since the twelfth century; the monks of Lindisfarne built the Norman chapel here when the ancient parish was sub-divided. The register for the church dates from about 1720. There is also a long history of Presbyterianism here; both Scottish and English Presbyterians had premises at Lowick. The Scottish congregation has been in existence since 1662, formed by Rev. Luke Ogle, who resigned as minister at Berwick as a consequence of the act of uniformity and retired to nearby Bowsden. This congregation is one of the oldest non-conformist groups in the country.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/173 Date: 1760-1841  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Lowick, St John the Baptist: Records of baptisms 1718-1944, marriages 1729-1983 and burials 1729-1871 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1718-1944, marriages 1729-1757, 1795, 1813-1837, banns 1775-1790, and burials 1729-1871 can also be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1716-1826 and marriages 1729-1812 (with gaps) for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1729-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1725-1826 and marriages and burials 1729-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Nonconformist Records

 Lowick, Haggerston Castle (Roman Catholic): Records of baptisms 1786-1789 and 1841-1853, marriages 1842-1890 and burials 1790-1836 are available at Northumberland Collections Service and at Berwick upon Tweed Record Office.

 Northumberland Collections Service has the following records for nonconformist churches located in this parish:

  •  Lowick P.M. Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1869-1932
  •  Lowick, English (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1920-1935.
  •  Lowick, Scotch (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1804-1849, 1906-1975.
  •  Lowick Scotch Presbyterian Church, Baptisms 1804-1849 have been published on microfiche by Berwick Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438892.

Poor Law Unions

Glendale Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,283 times.