Lowndes County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Lowndes County
Guide to Lowndes County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lowndes County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 20, 1830 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hayneville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Lowndes County Courthouse Tuskeena Street Hayneville, AL 36040 Phone: (334) 548-2252 County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Judge of Probate has marriage and land records from 1830,
birth and death records from 1879
Probate Records from 1870 and
military discharge records from 1919 [1]
History
Parent County
1830--Lowndes County was created 20 January 1830 from Butler, Dallas, and Montgomery Counties.
County seat: Hayneville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
| Lowndes County, Alabama | ||
|---|---|---|
| Year | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | — | |
| 1830 | 9,410 | — |
| 1840 | 19,539 | 107.6% |
| 1850 | 21,915 | 12.2% |
| 1860 | 27,716 | 26.5% |
| 1870 | 25,719 | −7.2% |
| 1880 | 31,176 | 21.2% |
| 1890 | 31,550 | 1.2% |
| 1900 | 35,651 | 13.0% |
| 1910 | 31,894 | −10.5% |
| 1920 | 25,406 | −20.3% |
| 1930 | 22,878 | −10.0% |
| 1940 | 22,661 | −0.9% |
| 1950 | 18,018 | −20.5% |
| 1960 | 15,417 | −14.4% |
| 1970 | 12,897 | −16.3% |
| 1980 | 13,253 | 2.8% |
| 1990 | 12,658 | −4.5% |
| 2000 | 13,473 | 6.4% |
| 2010 | 11,299 | −16.1% |
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Lowndes County, Alabama see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Lowndes County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.1465 E7b.
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Lowndes County, Alabama (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Lowndes County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Lowndes County.
- - 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (Guards of the Sunny South)
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Lowndes Beauregards"
- - 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- - 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E [subsequently, Company M]
- - 14th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Moore Guards"
- - 17th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A (Bartow Avengers);
- - 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- - 44th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- - 45th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B and I
- - 60th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
Probate Records
Research Guides
- Inventory of the County Archives of Alabama: Lowndes County. Birmingham, Ala.: The Project, 1939. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Taxation
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Lowndes County is in District 2.
Vital Records
Birth
- 1879-1885, 1910-1918 - Lowndes County Birth Index 1879-1885 and 1910-1918 (gaps) in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1830-1928 - Lowndes County Marriage Books 1, 3, and A-H Index 1830-1928 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1830-1880, 1898, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1830-1880, 1898, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1830–1880 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1830–1880 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
- 1881-1885, 1910-1933 - Lowndes County Death Index 1881-1885 and 1910-1933 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Lowndes County Alabama Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Lowndes County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Lowndes County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Lowndes County Alabama Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lowndes County p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 April 2013, at 00:06.
- This page has been accessed 2,175 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

