Lowndes County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Lowndes County

Guide to Lowndes County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Lowndes County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Lowndes County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 30 January, 1830
County Seat Columbus
Courthouse
Address Lowndes County Courthouse
PO Box 684
Columbus, MS 39703
Phone: 662.329.5805
Lowndes County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Lowndes County Courthouse
PO Box 684
Columbus, MS 39703
Phone: 662.329.5805

Department of Archives and History has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records 1830-1900 and Bible records. [1]

Beginning Dates for Lowndes County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1830--Lowndes County was created 30 January 1830 from Monroe County.
County seat: Columbus [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Lowndes County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lowndes County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Lowndes County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lowndes County. 
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry Reserves
Company I - Perkins’ Company
- 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry [became the 48th Regiment, Missippi Infantry]
Company - Blewett’s, aka Blewett’s Rifles, & aka "The Blewett’s"
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Hunt’s Company
Company F - Harrington’s Company
Company H - Richards’ Company
Company I - Johnston’s Company
Company K - Lipscomb’s Company
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company D - Lowndes Southrons
Company E - Southern Avengers
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company E - Lowndes Southrons
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company E - Prairie Guards
- 48th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry [from the 2nd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry]
Company C - Blewett’s Company, aka Blewett’s Rifles, & aka "The Blewett’s"
Company K - Capt. J.H. Fields’ Company [subsequently became Co. F, 8th Confederate Cavalry]
- 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company E [sic] - Abert’s Company
Company F [sic] - Fields’ Company
Company G - Matthews’ Company

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lowndes County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Lowndes County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Lowndes County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lowndes County, Mississippi page 381, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/b/be/Igimississippij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 November 2014, at 16:59.
  • This page has been accessed 5,199 times.