Lowton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Lowton, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lowton, Lancashire
Lowton Parish Church Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Leigh PLU
Registration District Leigh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1733
Bishop's Transcripts: 1736
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LOWTON (St. Luke), a parish, in the union of Leigh,hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 7 miles (N.) from Warrington containing the township of Golborn. The Manchester and Liverpool railway runs on the south, and at Golborn is a station on the North Union railway. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Lowton parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LOWTON ST LUKE PARISH (1835) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1845-1886 None None
LOPC 1835-1886 None
1769-1812, 1835-1886
LBMD 1837-1937 1845-1950 1837-1937
LOWTON ST MARY Chapelry  (1862) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1862-1958 None None
LBMD None 1862-1950 None
GOLBORNE ST THOMAS Chapelry  (1849) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1854-1872 None None
LOPC 1849-1927 1849-1930 1850-1923
LBMD None 1849-1950 None

Bishop's transcripts for Golborne and Lowton  Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.

Baptisms and burials 1854-1872 (Golborne); baptisms and burials 1845-1886 (Lowton). FHL BRITISH Film 1469067 Item 2

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306910.


Poor Law Unions

Leigh, Lancashire Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 182-186. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,614 times.