Lucker, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Lucker, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lucker, Northumberland
St Hilda Parish Church at Lucker Northumberland.JPG
St Hilda Parish Church at Lucker Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bambrough
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Belford PLU
Registration District Belford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1769
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LUCKER, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Belford, N. division of Bambrough ward and of Northumberland, 4 miles (S. E. by E.) from Belford.[1]

Additional information:

Lucker St Hilda was created as a (in 1766) as a chapelry of Bamburgh, Northumberland Ancient Parish. The first records begin in 1769. Lucker is a small village and the church is a small chapelry with surrounding burial ground.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/174 Date: 1769-1837  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Lucker, St Hilda: Records of baptisms 1769-1960, marriages 1769-1994 and burials 1769-1960 are available at  Northumberland Collections Service  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1769-1875 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms 1769-1875, marriages 1769-1781 and burials 1769-1875 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Lucker (microfiche TN74) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.

Poor Law Unions

Belford Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:16.
  • This page has been accessed 766 times.