Ludham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Guide to Ludham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. | image = Ludham St Catherines.jpg | caption = | Type = Ancient Parish | County = Norfolk | Hundred = Happing | Poor Law Union = Tunstead and Happing | Registration District = Tunstead | PRbegin = 1583 | BTbegin = 1698 | Province = Canterbury | Diocese = Norwich | Archdeaconry = | Archdeaconries = | Rural Deanery = Waxham | Parish = | Peculiar = | Chapelry = | Probate Court = Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk | Archdeaconry Court = | Bishops Court = | Prerogative Court = | Archive = Norfolk Record Office }}

Contents

Parish History

LUDHAM (St. Catherine), a parish, in the Tunstead and Happing incorporation, hundred of Happing, E. division of Norfolk, 13 miles (N. E. by E.) from Norwich. [1]  Also includes or is known as How Hill.

Ludham St Catherine is an Ancient parish in the Waxham deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.

When King Canute founded St. Benet's Abbey in the 11th century he endowed it with several manors and so the village of Ludham on the River Thurne came into being.

Although the oldest parts of the current church of St. Catherine only dates back to the 14th century there is evidence that an earlier church stood here back in the 11th century.

Legend tells of a dragon that terrorised the village of Ludham. The dragon made a lair of tunnels under the churchyard and across to the main street. Whilst the dragon was out basking in the sunshine one day a young fellow blocked the entrance to its tunnel. Enraged, the dragon flew off to St. Benet's Abbey and after smashing its tail against the wall, vanished, never to be seen or heard of again!

Church Records

Ludham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Ludham, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1583-1685, 1725-1901
1612-1685, 1725-1901
1583-1588, 1612-1910
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1583-1901 Undefined 1583-1902 Undefined 1583-1910
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 653

Poor Law Unions

Tunstead and Happing      http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/smallburgh_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438861.

http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Ludham.htm transcript of 1891 census


Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-190. Date accessed: 23 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,565 times.