Luffield Abbey, ex. par., BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Luffield Abbey, ex. par., Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Luffield Abbey, ex. par., Buckinghamshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckingham
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Buckingham PLU
Registration District Buckingham
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LUFFIELD-ABBEY, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Buckingham, hundred of Greens-Norton, S. division of the county of Northampton, 5½ miles (N. N. W.) from Buckingham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241212.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Luffield Abbey on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-190. Date accessed and adapted 20 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2014, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 513 times.