Lullingstone, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Lullingstone, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Lullingstone, Kent
Lullingstone St Botolph Kent.jpg
Lullingstone St Botolph Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LULLINGSTONE (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 7 miles (S. E. by E.) from Foot's-Cray.[1]


Lullingstone is a village in the Sevenoaks district of Kent Lullingstone Wikipedia which includes Lullingstone castle and its church and Lullingstone Roman Villa Lullingstone Roman Villa

The church to Lullingstone Castle, Lullingstone St Botolph is an Ancient parish within the civil parish of Eynsford ( Eynsford, Kent is the neighbouring parish) see Lullingstone Castle Wikipedia

A map of the parish boundary for Lullingstone St Botolph in the Diocese of Rochester is available at A church near you

The church of St Botolph has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 539-552 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Lullingstone North West Kent Family History Society and Lullingstone St Botolph

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lullingstone, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IARC = InternetArchive - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
Lullingstone, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1802-1851


FREG 1578-1811
1582-1812
1579-1811
FS BTs 1801-1851 1801-1851 1801-1851
IARC 1578-1731 1801-1812
IGI 1578-1731 1801-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census returns for Lullingstone 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 190-194. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. W. Bruce Bannerman, The Parish Registers of Lullingstone, Co. Kent (London: Privately Printed, 1918). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,029 times.