Lullington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Lullington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lullington, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alciston
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Eastbourne PLU
Registration District Eastbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1721
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LULLINGTON, a parish, in the union of Eastbourne, hundred of Alciston, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 8 miles (S. E. by E.) from the town of Lewes.[1]

Lullington is an Ancient parish in the Eastbourne area of East Sussex.It is now united with Alfriston, Sussex

history and image

Lullington is claimed to be the smallest church in England Lullington Wikipedia however this overlooks the evidence of a larger medieval church on the site of which only part has been retained.

Information about the church

Lullington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Lullington, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Lullington, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1606-1721, 1880-1895 (gaps)
1607-1639, 1701-1703, 1707, 1714

IGI 1606-1640, 1698-1895 1721-1880

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection<Lullington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

Poor Law Unions

Eastbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Lullington/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 190-194. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,196 times.