Lumpkin County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lumpkin County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Lumpkin County

Guide to Lumpkin County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Lumpkin County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Lumpkin County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 3, 1832
County Seat Dahlonega
Address Lumpkin County Courthouse

99 Courthouse Hill Suite A
Dahlonega, GA 30533-1167
Phone: 706.864.3742
Lumpkin County Website


County Courthouse

Lumpkin County Georgia Courthouse.jpg

Lumpkin County Courthouse
99 Courthouse Hill Suite A
Dahlonega, GA 30533-1167
Phone: 706.864.3742

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial, and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1833. [1]

Clerk of Superior Court
325 Riley Road
Room 108
Dahlonega, GA 30533
Phone: (706) 864-3736
Fax: (706) 864-5298

Probate Court of Lumpkin County
325 Riley Road, Room 122
Dahlonega, GA 30533
Phone: (706) 482-2455

Beginning Dates for Lumpkin County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1832--Lumpkin County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee, Habersham, and Hall Counties.
County seat:  Dahlonega [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Dawson County  • Fannin County  • Hall County  • Union County  • White County

Lumpkin CountyWhite CountyStephens CountyHabersham CountyRabun CountyTowns CountyUnion CountyMurray CountyFannin CountyGilmer CountyPickens CountyCherokee CountyFulton CountyForsyth CountyDawson CountyGwinnett CountyHall CountyBarrow CountyJackson CountyBanks CountyStephens CountyGALumpkin.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lumpkin County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lumpkin County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lumpkin County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate),
- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Ramsey's) (Confederate), Company H
- 52nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and D
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war's information also given)

  • Cain, Andrew W. 1978. History of Lumpkin County for the first hundred years, 1832-1932. Spartanburt, S.C.: Reprint Co. (Page 142-180)  975.8273 H2c
  • Cain, Andrew W. 1985. History of Lumpkin County for the first hundred years, 1832-1932. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 1425700



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lumpkin County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1833-1849 - Lumpkin County Marriage Index 1833-1849. Batch M713241 at FamilySearch - free. [4]
  • 1845-1884 - Lumpkin County Marriage Books A and B Index 1845-1884. Batch M713242 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1884-1895 - Lumpkin County Marriage Book C Index 1884-1895. Batch M713243 at FamilySearch - free.
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Lumpkin County Historical Society
PO Box 894
Dahlonega, GA 30533

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lumpkin County, Georgia. Page 158 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 41. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 November 2015, at 03:15.
  • This page has been accessed 9,226 times.