Lunds, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Lunds

Guide to Lunds, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lunds, Yorkshire
Lunds Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Bainbridge Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Askrigg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1749
Bishop's Transcripts: 1755
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lunds is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1737 from Aysgarth, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Birkriggs, Litherskew, and Camhouses.  

LUNDS, or Helbeck-Lunds, a chapelry, in the parish of Aysgarth, wapentake of Hang-West, N. riding of York, 6 miles (N. W. by W.) from Hawes. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Lunds exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
LUNDS CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464232.

Poor Law Unions

Bainbridge Gilbert Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Aysgarth Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 190-194. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,582 times.