Lurgashall, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Lurgashall, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lurgashall, Sussex
Lurgashall St Laurence's Church West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LURGASHALL, a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 15 miles (S. by W.) from Godalming.[1]

Lurgashall St Lawrence is an Ancient Parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex which includes Bittlesham Cottage, Boxland, Dial Green, Ramsford, Hill Grove, Rundhurst, Old Mill, and Diddesfield.

Th parish boundary forms part of the County boundary with neighboursHaslemere, Surrey and Chiddingfold, Surrey

A history of the church lurgashall St Lawrence

The parish church of St Lawrence has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Lurgashall Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Lurgashall Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church Records

Lurgashall, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Lurgashall, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1652-1775

IGI 1559-1877 1559-1875
PRTS 1559-1901
1559-1900
1573-1900

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lurgashall

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

[1]

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Lurgashall/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 190-194. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,413 times.