Lutheran Church - South AustraliaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Lutheran Church in South Australia
The Lutheran Archives is the official repository of historical material relating to the Lutheran Church of Australia (LCA). It holds records of the present LCA, as well as records of the earlier Lutheran Synods in Australia which in time amalgamated to form the present LCA.
Most records are available for inspection. (Some records have closed or restricted access. Private records of church departments which are less than 30 years old are generally not open for research, unless special permission is gained.)
Genealogy and family history research
The parish registers contain information on births, baptisms, confirmations, marriages, deaths and burials of people who were associated with the Lutheran Church. These are extremely valuable for family history research. To assist researchers, a Church Records Computer Database Index has been prepared. A printout of the surname provides the researcher with an index to entries with that surname in the parish registers. This enables the researcher to quickly locate those records which may be useful. There is an additional charge for this service.
Following are the contact details and opening times:
The Lutheran Archives
27 Fourth Street, Bowden SA 5007
Telephone: (08) 8340 4009
Open on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday 9.30am-4.30pm
Closed Wednesdays, weekends, and public holidays
How to get there:
Rail: (This is the most convenient way using public transport.) At the Adelaide Railway Station catch the Grange train and alight at the Bowden station. Walk south to Gibson St, then north-east to Fourth St.
Bus: Catch number 151, 152, 153 or 155 in North Terrace in the city and alight at Stop 6. Cross Port Road and walk to Gibson St, and then north-east to Fourth St.
Alternate route via Ward St, North Adelaide: Catch number 254 or 252 in King William St in the city and alight at Stop 9 on Hawker St. Walk south-west along Gibson St to Fourth St.
Car: From Park Tce – turn into Sixth St and drive to the end. Turn left into Drayton St, and left into Fourth St. From Port Road – turn into Gibson St, and left into Fourth St.
- This page was last modified on 9 May 2011, at 00:38.
- This page has been accessed 723 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News