Luton, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Luton, Bedfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Luton, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flitt
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Luton PLU
Registration District Luton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603; Separate registers exist for East Hyde beginning 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunstable
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LUTON, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Bedfordshire. The parish contains the hamlets of East Hyde, West Hyde, Stopsley, Leegrave, and Limbury-cum-Biscott. An Independent chapel was built in 1866. The Union Congregational chapel, the Baptist chapel, the Ebenezer Baptist chapel, the Ebenezer Calvinist chapel and the Quakers' chapel are in Luton. As well as two Wesleyan chapels and a Primitive Methodist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Luton, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
Luton, Bedfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885




BOYD

1602-1700


IGI 1602-1875
1602-1885


NBI



1602-1851

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

East Hyde registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

East Hyde Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1842-1910 1842-1910 1859-1928 1859-1928 1842-1982 1842-1982
IGI 1842-1875
1859-1885


NBI



1842-1852

Biscot registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Biscot Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1866-1875
1868-1885


Luton Christ Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Luton Christ Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1860-1875
1860-1885


Luton St Matthew registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Luton St Matthew Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI

1877-1888


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent
  • Union Congregational
  • Baptists
  • Ebenezer Baptists
  • Ebenezer Calvinist
  • Quakers
  • Wesleyans
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Roman Catholic
  • Presbyterian later United Reform Church

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241192.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Luton

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Luton on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, publ. London & Edinburgh: 1870-72]. Date accessed: 4 Dec 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 April 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 5 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 September 2014, at 15:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,159 times.