Luton, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Luton, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Luton, Kent
Luton Christ Church Kent.jpg
Luton Christ Church Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chatham Town
County Kent
Poor Law Union Medway PLU
Registration District Medway
Records begin
Parish registers: 1852
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LUTON, a chapelry in Chatham parish, Kent; 1½ mile SE of Chatham r. station. It was constituted in 1852; and it has a post office under Chatham.[1]


Luton is a district in the Medway town of Chatham Chatham Kent Wikipedia

Christchurch Luton Road was formed as a parish in 1842 from Chatham St Mary, Kent

See Luton North West Kent Family History Society and Chatham North West Kent Family History Society

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Luton, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[3]
Luton, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1852-1908
1853-1907
1852-1957
MED 1852-1960 1853-1954

Family History Library film numbers
Luton

Parish registers for Luton, 1852-1967 are the only Family History Library film holdings for Luton Christchurch. Search Medway Archives Catalogue online for further references to the parish including Orders in Council inaugurating District Chapelries of St. John's and Christchurch, Luton 1852

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306883.



Poor Law Unions

Medway Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, britain.org.uk/place/place_page.jsp?p_id=22938&st=luton Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,779 times.