Lydbury North, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Lydbury North, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lydbury North, Shropshire
Lydbury North Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Purslow
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Clun PLU
Registration District Clun
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clun
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LYDBURY, NORTH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Clun, hundred of Purslow, S. division of Shropshire, 3 miles (S. E.) from Bishop's-Castle.[1]

At the time of the Domesday Book in 1086, the priest was William the Clerk. The current stone church, dedicated to St Michael and All Angels, was built in the 12th and 13th centuries, and about 1580, the Bishop exchanged the parish with Elizabeth I for other properties.

Henry III granted a Charter to the town of Lydbury North providing for a weekly Market every Friday and an annual Fair 28-30th August.

In 1662, John Shipman bequeathed £200 towards the support of a free school. This parochial school for boys and girls was supported by an annual endowment of £16 plus voluntary contributions. It was based in the school room above the Walcot Chapel in the church until the present school was built in 1843.

The Countess of Powis established a free library for the benefit of those residing in the parish. The parish had annual charities worth £58 in 1863.

Walcot Park was built by Lord Clive of India and still contains extensive collections of Indian curiosities. It is a brick building set in extensive grounds and was the occasional residence of the Earl of Powis.

Plowden Hall is the seat of the Roman Catholic Plowden family. It is an ancient wooden building containing a fine collection of family portraits. A Roman Catholic chapel with residence for the priest and a school was erected in 1868.

Totterton Hall is a modern brick building which was the seat of the Bright family, vicars to Lydbury North in the 19th century.

About a mile and a half from the town of Lydbury North is Bury Ditches, the well preserved remains of an Iron Age hill fort, now under the control of English Heritage.

The rivers Onny and Kemp run through the parish.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474589.

The parish of Lydbury North formed part of the Clun Registrar's District.

Year Parts
1841 HO107/920
1851 HO107/1983
1861 RG9/1843
1871 RG10/2733
1881 RG11/2622
1891 RG12/2088
1901 RG13/2512


Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Lydbury North are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 1974 Lydbury Clun XXVIII (1837-1851)
6a (1852-1946)
9a (1946-74)

Church Records

Lydbury North parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
GEO = George Genealogy - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
LYDBURY NORTH PARISH (1568) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
GEO 1568-1881
1568-1881
1568-1863
IGI 1563-1846 1563-1846
JOIN
1669-1836

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/LydburyNorth/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-198. Date accessed: 30 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
  7. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,353 times.