Lydeard St Lawrence, OxfordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Lydeard St Lawrence, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lydeard St Lawrence, Oxfordshire|
|Hundred||Taunton and Taunton-Dean|
|Poor Law Union||Taunton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1573|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Record Office|
LYDEARD-ST.LAWRENCE, a village and a parish in Taunton district, Somerset. The village stands 2 miles NNE of Bishops-Lydeard railway station, and 8 NW of Taunton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Lydeard St Lawrence, Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)|
|WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free|
|LYDEARD ST LAWRENCE PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474604.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 23 September 2013.
- ↑ 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
- ↑ West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.
- This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 14:25.
- This page has been accessed 1,268 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki