Lydgate, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Lydgate, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lydgate St Anne contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg

Contents

Chapelry History

LYDGATE, (St Anne) was created as a chapel of ease by the year 1788 from, and lying within the boundaries of Rochdale Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Oldham, and 9 miles(N. E.) from Manchester. It is situated on the Stockton and New-Houses road, and on the line of the Huddersfield and Ashton canal. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Saddleworth

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Ldygate chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


LYDGATE ST ANN'S CHAPELRY (1788) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1788-1818 None 1788-1817
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1845-1974  None
AC  None None None

ROCHDALE ST CHAD(ancienty parish containing LYDGATE Cha

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Lydgate and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Parish registers for St. Anne's Church, Lydgate, 1788-1952 Microfilm of original records previosly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.Lydgate is a village and a chapelry in Saddleworth township,  Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire parish.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: 011/1/3/1, 011/1/4/1-2, 011/1/5/1-2.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1788-1924. Marriages, 1845-1879. Banns of marriages, 1858-1867, 1874-1908. Burials, 1813-1857.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357950 Items 3 - 10
Burials, 1858-1952.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357951 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for Lydgate, 1788-1846 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Bishop's transcripts of the chapelry of Lydgate (St. Ann), Saddleworth township in the parish of  Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire. Rochdale was mainly in the county of Lancashire.

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1788-1846; marriages, 1845.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545804 Item 4


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306930.


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-198. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,851 times.