Lyminge, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  KenEngland  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Lyminge, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lyminge, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loningborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1584
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LYMINGE (St. Mary and St. Eadburgh), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Loningborough, lathe of Shepway, E. division of the county of Kent, 2 miles (S. S. W.) from Elham. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Lyminge is a village and civil Parish in the Shepway district of Kent Lyminge Wikipedia

Lyminge is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury which included Rhodes Minnis. Stanford, Kent was formed as a chapelry from this parish. The modern parish of Lyminge and Paddlesworth (near Folkestone), Kent is one of the parishes in the Benefice of Lyminge with Paddlesworth Stanford with Postling St Mary and Postling St Radegund.

The Parish Church of St Mary and St Ethelburga Church website contains a history of the church and parish.

The remains of the older church and the church of St Mary and St Ethelburga have been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 78-91 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Kent Archaeological Society have a detailed survey of the church.

The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel in Chapel Lane Rhodes Minnis is part of the South Kent Methodist Circuit Rhodes Minnis For image and history of the chapel see Rhodes Minnis Methodist Chapel Rhodes Minnis is a village within the Lyminge civil parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lyminge, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BMI = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
LYMINGE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1795-1837

BMI
1679-1775

FMP 1679-1897 1679-1897 1679-1928 1679-1928 1680-1967 1680-1967
FREG 1813-1815
1813-1831
1813-1852
KOPC 1554-1837
1665-1841
1538-1837
PRTS
1679-1837

Land Tax

Images for Lyminge and Paddlesworth are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.



Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 198-203. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 13 March 2012.
  4. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  7. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  8. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 3,088 times.