Lyminster, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Lyminster, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lyminster, Sussex
St Mary Magdalene Lyminster West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Poling
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565; Separate registers exist for Warningcamp beginning 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571; Separate records exist for Warningcamp beginning 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LEOMINSTER, or LYMINSTER, a parish in Worthing district, Sussex; on the South Coast railway, at the quondam Arundel station, 1½ mile E of Ford Junction station, near the river Arun, and 2 miles SSE of Arundel. It contains the hamlets of Crossbush, Toddington, and Wick.[1]


Lyminster St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish in the Arun district of West Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Toddington, Warningcamp, Crossbush, and Wick.

history and images

The church of St Mary Magdalene has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Lyminster Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Lyminster Wiikipedia List of places of worship in Arun which includes Warningcamp St Barnabas former church Warningcamp Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Warningcamp Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 68-74. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Lyminster, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Lyminster, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1566-1876 1566-1876

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1565-1985 Marr 1566-1976 Bur 1566-1964

Bishop's Transcripts 1551-1874

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lyminster

Warningcamp registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Warningcamp Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1571-1717 1570s-1640
SOPC Undefined


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Lyminster/

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, [http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/8817 Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 September 2014, at 21:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,368 times.