Lynchmere, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Lynchmere, Sussex
Linchmere St Peter West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easebourne
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LINCHMERE, or LYNCHMERE, a parish in Midhurst district, Sussex; on the Midhurst and Haslemere railway, 3 miles SW of Haslemere. Post town, Haslemere, under Liphook.[1]


Linchmere (often spelt Lynchmere in earlier records) St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex which forms part of the county border with neighbours Bramshott, Hampshire

Shottermill, Surrey and Haslemere, Surrey

The history of the church Linchmere

The Parish church of St Peter has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Linchmere Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Linchmere Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Lynchmere, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
LYNCHMERE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1651-1774

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1565-1602, 1605-1716, 1742-1901
1566-1902
1566-1697, 1714-1717, 1742-1902

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Lynchmere

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, [http://visionofbritain.org.uk/place/9329 Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 684 times.