Lynford, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Lynford, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lynford, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grimshoe
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Thetford PLU
Registration District Thetford
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see MundFord
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cranwich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LYNFORD, a parish, in the union of Thetford, hundred of Grimshoe, W. division of the county of Norfolk, 6 miles (N. N. E.) from Brandon. [1]


Lynford Our Lady and St Stephen is the private Roman Catholic chapel built by the Mrs Lyne-Stephens in 1878. She lived at Lynford Hall and had the church built to save her the inconvenience of leaving the Hall and estate to travel to Thetford to attend mass.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Thetford 1837- 1938
  • Wayland 1939-1974

Church records

No deposited records are found at the Norfolk Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438860.



Poor Law Unions

Thetford Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 198-203. Date accessed: 23 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:27.
  • This page has been accessed 753 times.