Lyon County, KentuckyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kentucky
Lyon County
Guide to Lyon County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lyon County, Kentucky | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Kentucky | |||||||||
![]() Location of Kentucky in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | January 14, 1854 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Eddyville | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents
|
County Courthouse
| | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| | |||||
Lyon County Courthouse
200 W Dale Avenue
PO Box 698
Eddyville, KY 42038
Phone: 270.388.2331[1]
History
Parent County
1854--Lyon County was created 14 January 1854 from Caldwell County.
County seat: Eddyville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Carmack | Eddyville | Kuttawa | Saratoga |
| Confederate | Eden Bay | Lamasco | Suwanee |
| Cross Road | Fairview | Palisades | Twin Lakes |
| Eddy Bay | Indian Hills |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- African American Griots Lyon Co., Ky
- Sandi Gorin's Tips ~ Hangings in Kentucky 1792 - 1900
The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Kentucky Minorities has information specific to Kentucky African Americans.
Cemeteries
- Some Lyon Co., Ky. Cemeteries
- Some Lyon Co., Ky. Cemeteries
- Kentucky Historical Society Cemetery Search can be searched by name, place and/or date. This database has hundreds of thousands of names transcribed from gravestones across Kentucky.
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Lyon County and links to the information for the individuals buried there,
- Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
- Lyon Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Lyon County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- ePodunk list of Lyon County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1860 | 5,307 | ||
| 1870 | 6,233 | 17.4% | |
| 1880 | 6,768 | 8.6% | |
| 1890 | 7,628 | 12.7% | |
| 1900 | 9,319 | 22.2% | |
| 1910 | 9,423 | 1.1% | |
| 1920 | 8,795 | −6.7% | |
| 1930 | 8,530 | −3.0% | |
| 1940 | 9,067 | 6.3% | |
| 1950 | 6,853 | −24.4% | |
| 1960 | 5,924 | −13.6% | |
| 1970 | 5,562 | −6.1% | |
| 1980 | 6,490 | 16.7% | |
| 1990 | 6,624 | 2.1% | |
| 2000 | 8,080 | 22.0% | |
| http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21143.txt | |||
For tips on accessing Lyon County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Kentucky Census Transcriptions 1850 - 1930
- The USGenWeb Census Images ~ The USGenWeb Census Images Project
- Kentucky Census Transcriptions ~ The USGenWeb Census Project
- Census Online ~ Census Online
Church
Court
- Ky Court of Justice
- Abstracts of Early KY Court Cases Abstracts of Early Supreme Court Cases ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
- Kentucky Court of Justice Research & Reference
Genealogy
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography
- [Baker] Chapman, Peggy Brown. Bakers of Logan, Christian, Muhlenberg, Livingston, Henderson, Hopkins, Caldwell, Union, Todd, Trigg, Crittenden, Lyon, McLean and Webster Counties & Jackson Purchase, Kentucky. Lubbock, Texas: P.B. Chapman, 1995. FHL 751704
Land
Local Histories
Lyon Co., Ky. Historical Signs
Maps
Military
- Military Resources ~ Revolutionary War through Civil War
- Korean War Memorial Korean War Memorial for Soliders from KY ~ KYGenWeb
- Fallen Soldiers in WWI from KY ~ Fallen Soldiers in WWI from Kentucky
Miscellaneous
- Kentucky Postcards ~ The USGenWeb Archives Penny Postcard Project
- The KYGenWeb Footsteps ~ The Kentucky Footsteps Archives ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
Newspapers
- Kentucky News - Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Another Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Kentucky Newspapers on Microfilm - Kentucky Newspapers Available On Microfilm
Obituaries
- KY Footsteps Archives ~ KY Footsteps List Archives - thousands of obituaries here ~ KYGenWeb Project
- KY Obituary Sources ~ Kentucky Obituary Sources ~ Compiled by the KYGenWeb Project
- Links to research and locate obituaries
- Browning Genealogy Database ~ The Browning Genealogy Database - A Collection of Obituaries Compiled by Charles Browning.
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Kentucky Obituary Project
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Kentucky Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
- Nashville Advocate ~ Death Abstracts from the Nashville Christian Advocate
- Lyon County, Kentucky Obituary Collection From various funeral homes in the Eddyville and Kuttawa area.
Probate
- 1847-1941 - Will Book 1 (1847-1941) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
- 1853-1862 - Lyon County Birth Index 1853-1862. Batch C517661 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1874 - Lyon County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517662 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1875 - Lyon County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517663 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
- 1853-1862 - Lyon County Marriage Index 1853-1862. Batch M517661 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1875 - Lyon County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517664 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1876-1878 - Lyon County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517665 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Unsorted
- Lyon Co., Ky. Archives -Marriages 1891-1910 (Partial Listing)
- Lyon Co., KyGenWeb Births 1911-1930
- Ky Vital Records Project-death certs.
- 1860 Lyon Co.,Ky. Mortality Schedule
- Lyon Co., Ky. mail list obits
- Some Lyon Co., KyGenWeb Delayed Birth Records
- Social Security Death Index
- Lyon Co., Ky Cemeteries Unmarked Burials
Societies and Libraries
Lyon Co., Ky. Historical Society
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Lyon County KYGenWeb
- KYGenWeb project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for each county. Select the county.
- State of Kencucky Website
- USGenWeb Kentucky Archives ~ Kentucky in the USGenWeb Archives ~ Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- The USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Lyon County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lyon County, Kentucky page 272, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 March 2013, at 17:18.
- This page has been accessed 3,585 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


