Lytham St John, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Lytham St John, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lytham St John, Lancashire
Lytham St John Lancashire.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Fylde PLU
Registration District Fylde
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Lytham, with railway station, N. Lancashire, on estuary of the Ribble, 7 miles SE. of Blackpool and 14 miles W. of Preston - par. (containing the greater part of St Annes on Sea). St John the Divine Lytham, East Beach was built in 1848-49 by Edwin H Shellard, as a district church and stood within the civil parish boundaries of St Cuthbert Lytham. It was in the Amounderness deanery of the Diocese of Manchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Lytham St John chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Lytham St Cuthbert to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
MOCO = Mocavo.com


LYTHAM ST JOHN THE DIVINE Chapelry (1849) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1849-1900 1840-1900  None
LOPC 1849-1900 1851-1900 1851-1900
LBMD None 1851-1989 None
LYTHAM ST CUTHBERT(ancient parish containing LYTHAM ST JOHN THE DIVINE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1678-1900 1679-1900 1679-1900
MOCO 1678-1761 1678-1761 1678-1761
LOPC 1813-1900 1754-1900 1876-1900
FMP  None 1679-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-1975  None 
AC 1679-1761 1679-1761 1679-1761


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Lytham St John and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lytham St Cuthbert to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LYTHAM ST CUTHBERT PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306887.


Poor Law Unions

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles published in 1887.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 4,190 times.