Lythe, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-RGotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Lythe

Guide to Lythe, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lythe, Yorkshire
St Oswald Lythe.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Whitby PLU
Registration District Whitby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1634
Bishop's Transcripts: 1619
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lythe St Oswald is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Mickleby, Kettleness, Nickleby, Sandsend, Ugthorpe, Barnby, Borrowby, Borrowby near Whitby, Briscoe, East Row, Ellerby, Ellerby near Whitley, Goldsbrough, Hutton Mulgrave, and Newton Mulgrave.

LYTHE (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Whitby, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Barnby, Borrowby, Ellerby, Hutton-Mulgrave, Mickleby, Newton-Mulgrave, and Ugthorpe, 2080 inhabitants, of whom 1063 are in the township of Lythe, 4 miles (W.N. W.) from Whitby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; and at Ugthorpe is a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Lythe exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
LYTHE PARISH (1619) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1619-1857

1619-1867, 1882
None

JOIN None

1619-1837

None

GROSMONT CHAPELRY (1850) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1850-1861

1860-1881

None

Ugthorpe Christ Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Ugthorpe Christ Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1869-1941

Ugthorpe St Anne Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Ugthorpe St Anne Roman Catholic Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1794-1823, 1827

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464233.

Poor Law Unions

Whitby Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 203-208. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:51.
  • This page has been accessed 2,239 times.