Mabe, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Mabe, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mabe, Cornwall
Mabe Church Cornwall.jpg
Mabe Church Cornwall
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Falmouth PLU
Registration District Falmouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654; For more records see Mylor
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MABE (St. Mabe), a parish, in the union of Falmouth, E. division of the hundred of Kerrier, W. division of Cornwall, 4½ miles (W.) from Falmouth, on the road to Penryn. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Mabe St Laudus was a chapelry of Mylor, Cornwall Ancient Parish in Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mabe, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
Mabe, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1610-1675

COPC 1654-1911
1611-1904
1653-1936
CPRI

1654-1905
FMP 1654-1875 1611-1837 1813-1837
FREG 1813-1901
1813-1905
1813-1901
FS PRs 1654-1901 1654-1905 1654-1901
IGI 1653-1742, 1813-1875

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 131

Non Conformist Churches
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/mabe.php

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Mabe.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241261.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Falmouth, Cornwall

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  5. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,326 times.