Macclesfield St Michael, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Macclesfield, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Macclesfield St Michael, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Macclesfield St Michael, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield; Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MACCLESFIELD, is a market-town, parochial chapelry, and newly-enfranchised borough, having separate jurisdiction, it is locally in the parish of Prestbury, and hundred of Macclesfield, and the head of a union, in the N. division of the county of Chester. The town is pleasantly situated near the southern extremity of the forest.

The parochial chapelry consists of the nine townships of Hurdsfield, Kettleshulme, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Pott-Shrigley, Rainow, Sutton, Wildboar-Clough, and Wincle. The parochial chapel, dedicated to St. Michael, and is dependent on the mother church at Prestbury. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Socinians, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Situated in the ancient Domesday Hundred of Hamestan, the Domesday Book lists Macclesfield as "Maclesfeld", whilst in 1183 it was referred to as "Makeslesfeld". It is thought that Macclesfield got its name from "Michael's field" - referring to St. Michael, as in St. Michael's church.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241256.

Church records

Macclesfield St Michael chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Macclesfield St Michael Chapelry (1572) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1572-1871
1572-1871
1572-1871
FS PR's 1572-1909
  NONE
1572-1934
  NONE
1572-1868
  NONE
FS BT'S 1608-1892
  NONE
1682-1837
  NONE
1607-1834
  NONE
JOIN

1572-1837


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The ancient parish which included Macclesfield was Prestbury (see history of the parish)

Macclesfield, St Michael's

Macclesfield, St Peter 

Macclesfield, Christ Church, Cheshire

Sutton,near Macclesfield,Cheshire

Macclesfield, St Paul, Cheshire

Macclesfield, St John the Evangelist, Cheshire

Chorley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CHORLEY PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1853-1906
1866-1906


 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Michael's Church, Macclesfield, 1572-1960 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P85/1/1-11, P85/2/1-13, P85/3/1-7, P85/4/1-11, P85/5/1-4, P85/7/1-2, P85/6/1, P85/8/1, 3, P85/15, P85/5541/1-8, 13.

Parish Registers: St. Michael's Church Film
Early registers (baptisms, marriages, burials), 1572-1704 (includes index to early registers, 1699-1754).
2105801 Items 6 - 11
Early registers (baptisms, marriages, burials), 1704-1712. Index to early registers, 1699-1754. Early registers (baptisms, marriages to 1756, burials), 1712-1770 (3 registers). Baptisms and burials, 1771-1812 (3 registers). Baptisms, 1813-1815 (to 4 June).
2105906
Baptisms, 1815-1836.
2105907
Baptisms, 1836-1869.
2105908
Baptisms, 1869-1888. Marriages, 1835-1857.
2105909
Marriages, 1857-1894. Marriage banns, 1835-1864.
2105910
Marriage banns, 1864-1948. Burials, 1813-1837.
2105911
Burials, 1837-1873. Church pew list, 1742. Church pew rent accounts, 1838-1882. Gown user list, 1859-1866. Marriage papers, 1854, 1882.
2105912 Items 1 - 6
Baptisms at the Crompton Road School room, 1861-1896.
2106063 Item 2
Baptisms, 1876-1912.
2262785 Items 8 - 9
Marriages, 1894-Nov. 1945 (1894-1905 filmed out of sequence).
2262786
Marriages, Nov. 1945-1951. Banns of marriages, 1948-1960.
2262787 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for St. Michael's Church, Macclesfield, 1586-1892 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 137.

Bishops Transcripts: St. Michael's Church Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1586, 1608, 1600, 1605, 1615, 1617, 1611, 1619, 1790, 1620, 1622-1623, 1625-1626, 1628-1637, [no date], 1641, 1663-1680, 1682-1685.
1656845 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1685, 1683, 1682, 1681, 1680, 1679, 1678, 1676-1677, 1674-1675, 1673-1674, 1672-1673, 1671, 1670, 1669, 1668, 1687, [1686?], [no date], 1689-1697, 1700-1704, 1706, 1708-1717, [no date], [1719?], 1720, [1721?], 1722, [no date], 1726-1727, 1730, 1725, 1728-1754, baptisms, burials, 1755-1768, 1766-1772.
1656950
Baptisms, burials, 1772-1790, 1794, 1793, 1792, 1791, 1795, 1802, 1801, 1803, 1799, 1798, 1797, 1796, 1804, 1806, 1805, 1809, 1808, 1807, 1810-1821, baptisms, 1822-1823, burials, 1822-1823, baptisms, burials, 1824-1825, burials, 1826.
1656951
Baptisms, burials, 1826-1828, baptisms, 1827 (refilmed), baptisms, burials, 1829-1835, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1836.
1656952
Burials, 1836, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1837, baptisms, burials, 1838-1845, baptisms, 1884-1885, 1889-1892.
1656953
Non-Conformist Churches

Macclesfield, St Alban (Roman Catholic)

Macclesfield, St. Edward the Confessor (Roman Catholic), London Road. Built in 1939.

Macclesfield Primitive Methodist Circuit, Cheshire

Macclesfield Methodist chapel, Church Street West, Cheshire

Macclesfield, Baptist Chapel, Calemine Street, rebuilt in 1873 in St. George Street.
Macclesfield, Friends' Meeting House (Quaker), Mill Street.See Macclesfield Society of Friends, Cheshire

Macclesfield, Methodist (Mount Tabor) Chapel, Tabor Street. Built in 1861, closed in 1966. See Macclesfield Mount Tabor Methodist Chapel, Cheshire

Macclesfield Park Green United Methodist Chapel, Cheshire

Macclesfield Park Street Methodist chapel, Cheshire

Macclesfield Stamford Road Methodist Chapel,Cheshire

Macclesfield, Sunderland Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel,Cheshire

Macclesfield Trinity Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Cheshire

Macclesfield, Unitarian (Ebenezer) Chapel,Cheshire

Macclesfield United Reformed Church, Cheshire includes Townley Street Chapel, Roe Street Chapel and Park Green Congregational Church

Macclesfield, Unitarian Chapel, Parsonage Street. Built in 1806, closed in 1887.
Macclesfield, Spiritualist Free Chapel, Cumberland Street. Built in 1879.

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Macclesfield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • General Baptist
  • Independent Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion

Non-Conformist records:

 Here is a list of Non-Conformists churches on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. 

Methodist New Connexion Chapel Church records, 1815-1837 RG-4 series no. 184.

Methodist New Connexion Chapel Film
Births and baptisms, 1815-1837.
20048 Item 12
Another filming. London : Public Record Office, 1986. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
1482352 Item 4

St. George's Chapel Baptist Church records, 1801-1868 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EBC 4/5077.

St. George's Chapel Baptist Church records Film
Births, 1801-1837 (includes index) Sunday School Pupils, 1840-1868 (includes list of teachers, 1821-1868)
2000040 Items 7-8

Catholic Church St. Alban's Macclesfield Church records, 1795-1957

Catholic Church St. Alban's Macclesfield Church records Film
Baptisms, 1795-1825; marriages, 1825-1837; confirmations, 1821 Births and baptisms, 1856-1864 (to Jan. 1864)
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2068191 Items 11-13
Baptisms, 1864-1908, 1936-1957 Marriages, 1936-1953
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2068192
Burials, 1833-1912
2068193 Items 1-4

Townley Street Chapel Macclesfield Independent Church records, 1785-1891 Cheshire Record Office no.: ECC 5/1/1

Townley Street Chapel Macclesfield Independent Church records Film
Record contains births and baptisms, 1785-1870, 1891; marriages, 1890
1736978 Item 3

Ebenezer Chapel Independent, Macclesfield Church records, 1785-1837 RG-4 series no. 539.

Ebenezer Chapel Independent, Macclesfield Church records Film
Births and baptisms, 1785-1837 and burials, 1789-1835
20048 Item 5

Roe Street Chapel Macclesfield, 1831-1915 RG-4 series no. 540. Cheshire Record Office no.: ECC 5/1/2, 5/2

Roe Street Chapel (Macclesfield Film
Birth, baptisms, 1831-1837
20048 Item 6
Baptisms, 1880-1909
1736978 Item 4
Marriages, 1881-1909
1736978 Item 5
Deaths, 1881-1915
1736978 Item 7

Church records for the Church Street West Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Macclesfield, 1872-1958 Cheshire Record Office: EMS 1/2/1, EMS 1/12/1-3.

Church records for the Church Street West Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Film
Baptisms, 1872-1921. Marriages, 1909-1958.
2299472 Items 14 - 17

Church records for the Macclesfield Primitive Methodist Circuit, 1823-1945 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMC 4/4653/1.

Church records for the Macclesfield Primitive Methodist Circuit Film
Baptisms, 1823-1945.
2299550 Item 2

Church records for the Macclesfield Society of Friends preparative meetings, 1859-1889 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EFC 9/5010/6-7, EFC 10/3.

Church records for the Macclesfield Society of Friends preparative meeting Film
Register of members, 1859-1881. Burials, 1870-1889.
2299642 Items 5 - 7

Church records for the Morley Society of Friends monthly meetings, 1677-1831 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EFC 1/1-3; EFC 1/10/1-3.

Church records for the Morley Society of Friends Film
Minutes of men's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1677-1722 (includes Stockport, Macclesfield, and Eaton).
2299553 Items 5 - 6
Minutes of men's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1722-1831 (includes Stockport, Macclesfield, and Eaton) (includes removals, admittances to membership and an index). Minutes of women's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages and disbursements to the poor, 1703-1730.
2326889
Minutes of women's meetings, including intentions and completions of marriages, 1730-1804.
2299642 Items 1 - 2

Church records for the Mount Tabor New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Macclesfield, 1891-1953 Cheshire Record Office: EMS 3/1.

Church records for the Mount Tabor New Connexion Methodist Chapel Film
Baptisms, 1891-1953.
2299472 Item 18

Church records for the Park Green United Methodist Free Chapel, Macclesfield, 1856-1939 Cheshire Record Office: EMS 4/1/1, EMS 4/8/1-4.

Church records Park Green United Methodist Free Chapel Film
Baptisms, 1856-1920. Marriages, 1904-1939.
2299472 Items 19 - 23

Church records for the Park Street New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Macclesfield, 1815-1949 Cheshire Record Office: EMS 5/1/1-3, EMS 5/2, EMS 5/9/1-4.

Church records Park Street New Connexion Methodist Chapel Film
Baptisms, 1815-1837, 1848-July 1887.
2299472 Items 24 - 25
Baptisms, Apr.1887-1949. Burials, 1837-1941. Marriages, 1920-1949.
2299473 Items 1 - 7

Church records for the Stamford Road Methodist Chapel, Macclesfield, 1939-1951 Cheshire Record Office: EMS 313/3824/1-2.

Church records: Stamford Road Methodist Chapel Film
Marriages, 1939-1951.
2299473 Items 8 - 9

Church records for the Sunderland Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Macclesfield, 1815-1969 Public Record Office call nos.: RG-4 series nos. 541-542. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 6/1, 11/18.

Church records Sunderland Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Film
Births and baptisms, 1815-1837.
20048 Items 10 - 11
Baptisms, 1838-1969. Marriages, 1871-1954.
2299473 Items 10 - 18

Church records for the Trinity Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Cumberland Street, Macclesfield, 1875-1966 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 7/1-8.

Church records Trinity Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Cumberland Street Film
Baptisms, 1875-1966. Marriages, 1876-Mar. 1921.
2299473 Items 19 - 25
Marriages, Mar. 1921-1949
2299474 Items 1 - 2

King Edward Street Chapel Macclesfield,Presbyterian Church records, 1713-1919 RG-4 series nos. 3535, 216, 2904.

King Edward Street Chapel Macclesfield,Presbyterian Church records Film
Births, baptisms, 1713-1837
20048 Items 7-9
Baptisms, 1843-1888 Marriages, 1851-1888 Burials, 1866-1879 Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1897-1919
1736978 Items 10-11
Baptisms, 1713-1785.
1482409 Item 7
Births and baptisms, 1822-1837.
1482395 Item 8

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Macclesfield Branch Record of members, 1840-1869 Microfilm of original records in the LDS Church Archives, Salt Lake City.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Macclesfield Branch Record of members Film
Record of members, 1840-1869
87017 Items 1-3

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Burslem Branch (Staffordshire) Record of members, 1858-1869 Microfilm copy of original records in the LDS Church Archives, Salt Lake City.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Burslem Branch Film
Record of members, 1858-1869
86989 Item 19

Dissenters' Burial Ground Register of burials, 1789-1865 Cheshire Records Office no.: ECC/5/3/1

Dissenters' Burial Ground Register of burials Film
Register of burials, 1789-1865
1736978 Item 6

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837-1998)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Macclesfield onGENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 19:53.
  • This page has been accessed 5,593 times.